On 8th December 1842 a small group of Sacred Heart Sisters travelled to England from France to open a new community. Our first foundation in this country was in Berrymead (West London); in 1850 it transferred to Roehampton, now home to Digby Stuart College.

The last eighteen decades have seen the opening and closure of many communities,plus several schools and teacher training colleges. During WWII several of the schools and colleges were evacuated, and some were eventually relocated.Sisters from this country have also made foundations in Australia, Malta and India, and others have responded to the call to serve in different countries on every continent. 


Copy of a Original House Journal

Since the Second Vatican Council (1962-5) there have been many changes in the Society, and in how and where we continue to live our mission of discovering and making known the unlimited and unconditional love of the Heart of God, especially in places and situations where love and reconciliation are most needed. 

And so, on 8th December 2022 we begin a year of thanksgiving for all who have gone before us, and for the contribution that the Society of the Sacred Heart has made over the past 180 years, especially in England-Wales. Throughout this year we will be sharing reflections, memories and events on this page, which will go live on our birthday.

Commemorative Logo Marking 180 Years

More news & events

Sacred Heart Leaders’ Conference

The Headteachers from our schools gathered together at Woldingham School...

March 13, 2023

Supporting a new Sacred Heart School in Kenya

Schools come together to fundraise the building of a new school in Kenya...

March 24, 2023